In User Management and its associated configuration pages, you can do the following:


Accessing the User Management page

  • Go to Tenant Settings > User Management

This opens the User Management page, where you can view all current users, as well as when they logged in for the last time, and whether they are locked, i.e. they are not allowed to log in anymore.

User Management page


Create a new user account

Step 1) From the User Management page, select the New User button to open the Create New User dialog.

Step 2) In the Create New User dialog, enter the following information, and then press the Create User button.

  • Username. The username cannot be changed after creating a new user.

  • Full Name. The full name can be changed after creating a new user. The initials will be used to auto-generate the user’s avatar icon.

  • Role in Visualizer.
    Note: The Role in Visualizer must be combined with the user role “Visualizer Access” to be effective.

    • Edit. Allows the user to edit the display settings of the Tenant visualizer.

    • View. Allows the user to view only access to the Tenant visualizer.

  • Email. Enter a valid email address to enable user password resets.

  • Password. By default, passwords must be at least 10 characters. The Password policy can be configured differently for each tenant by each organization.

  • See Tenant Configuration for more information on how to set custom password policies.


Modify an existing user account

Step 1) From the User Management page, select the Username or Edit button to open the User Settings and Roles page.

Step 2) In the User Settings field, modify user settings based on the following requirements. Then select the Save Settings button to save changes and return to the User Management page.

  • Username. The username cannot be changed after creating a new user.

  • Full Name. The full name can be changed after creating a new user. The initials will be used to auto-generate the user’s avatar icon.

  • Role in Visualizer
    Note: The Role in Visualizer must be combined with the user role “Visualizer Access” to be effective.

    • Edit. Allows the user to edit the display settings of the Tenant visualizer.

    • View. Allows the user to view only access to the Tenant visualizer.

  • Email. Enter a valid email address to enable user password resets.

  • Password. By default, the only restriction is that passwords must be at least 10 characters. Password requirements can be configured differently for each tenant by each different organization.

  • User Roles. This section allows you to assign user roles, which are used to grant or limit user access to various tenant resources.
    See Roles and Permissions for more information for a more in-depth explanation of the different User Roles in the thingsHub.


Delete a user account

Step 1) From the User Management page, select the Delete button that corresponds to the user account to be deleted.

Step 2) Press Ok to confirm user account deletion. This will permanently delete the user from the tenant.


Unlock an account that exceeded failed password attempts

Step 1) From the User Management page, locate and select the username of the locked account.
Note: A lock icon will appear in the Locked column if there were too many failed password attempts.

Step 2) Switch the User can login toggle to the green setting to unlock the account.


Related articles: